2 Bedroom (Sleeps 3) Cottage in Silverdale

Virginia Cottage
At a glance: Pet Friendly, Wifi, Parking, Garden.
Reference: P217484 - Book via Simply Owners and pay no booking fees or extra charges

Calendar

Book with the owner direct

Owner: Gordon Hall
Book this Cottage by contacting the owner directly to confirm price, property details and availability.


Booking directly with the owner means you pay the owners price with no added booking fees or extra charges.

Overview

  • Property Type: Cottage
  • Location: Silverdale
  • Sleeps: 3
  • Bedrooms: 2 Bedroom
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Minimum nights stay: 7
  • Low season price per week: £315
  • High season price per week: £615
  • Average price per week:£495
  • Property Rating: 5/5 Average Rating (1 Review)
  • Please contact the owner directly to confirm the price and availability

Description

DUE TO CANCELLATION w/c OCT 22 IS NOW AVAILABLE

Virginia Cottage is a traditional country cottage, built of stone and with a slate roof. Its vernacular style is both aesthetically pleasing and immediately welcoming. It is covered in flowers (Virginia creeper - hence the name), with roses at the door. Just the stuff of which English dreams are made! Excellent walking area.
Virginia cottage is a very ‘personalised’ cottage

It is fully equipped and, unlike most letting cottages these days, is 'personalised' with my books, pictures and bric-à-braq. This may intrigue you, annoy you, or soothe you. It is what they call nowadays a 'marmite' experience - you either love it or hate it, from the spiders in the bathroom to the deer nibbling my plants (blast them - please shoo them away!)

Inside you will find the original cooking range still in the kitchen-diner (it no longer has a flue so don't get over-excited about it!). In the sitting room there is flue-less gas stove (looks like a log burner) that is wonderful in the cooler months. Upstairs there is a kingsize bed in the large bedroom, and a 'small double' (4ft) bed that takes up most of the second bedroom. Also on the first floor here is a shower room with shower, toilet, basin, washing machine and tumble drier.

The 'garden' comprises three very small patches of land. The most useful is the sitting area right outside the front door - it is a real sun-trap. There is a triangular patch of grass, which is pretty but useless, and a gravelled area next to the garage where you can barbecue if you really must! Wherever you are you will hear the birds chirping in the surrounding trees.

Dogs are welcome, but no other species of pet (cats, ferrets, elephants, etc.).

Viginia is best suited for couples, perhaps with a teenager or older adult. It is NOT suitable for children under 12, so they are 'banned' their own safety. You will find that you can have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday in the picture-perfect village of Silverdale - the centre is only a five minute walk (well ten if you are a getting bit old and tottery like me!).

1 Review - 5/5 Average Rating

Virginia Cottage Reviews in 2020

By Reevoo (Cumbria Cottages) on 04-Nov-2020

Alison Confirmed guest on 22/10/2020 Suited the two of us well for a short break. Very cosy in late October and peaceful. Lovely walks from the doorstep.Please improve the directions and change the picture as the front door is now a red not a blue colour. People need to know that they must access the property down an unsigned road that runs off the top of the Stankelt Road hill, by the local church's noticeboard. Could a sign with reference to 51 - xx Stankelt Road be put onto the wall please? Cherry Confirmed guest on 12/10/2020 A very lovely place to stay. A home from home feeling, with great facilities. The local area is beautiful and don’t have to spend your time in the car to enjoy your stay. Its all on the doorstepI loved everything about this cottage. Felt like being at home. Didn’t want to leave. Nothing! David Confirmed guest on 25/09/2020 A very pretty old worlde cottage, extremely well equipped with spacious rooms and very modern kitchen and shower room. Plus a large freezer in garage. 15 minute walk to the village centre and half an hour to the train station. Perfect for anyone who enjoys walking as there are footpath trails in every direction. Judith Confirmed guest on 14/09/2020 Lovely cosy quaint cottage, would have given 10 but tend never to - always room for improvement. Couldn't get any Sky TV channels and dishwasher too small OWNER RESPONSE Thank you - and I agree that there is always room for improvement. I will try to re-write the TV control instructions as there certainly is a basic SKY package. Up until this year there was no dishwasher, because I could not think where to put it. Then I had a bright idea of putting a small one where it is situated now it took a bit of alteration to do so. You are right, it IS small, but I fear that there is not room for anything else. Tina Confirmed guest on 11/09/2020 Great holiday Plenty of walks, RSPB reserve and Arnside & Silverdale ANOB in vicinity.Lovely cottage with plenty of character. Modern kitchen and bathroom. Comfortable bed. Good situation on edge of village with nearby walks. Walking distance to shops and pub/restaurant.Would have been better to have proper control of central heating - it was quite a cold week. The sheet on the master bed was too small, looked as if it should have been on the 4ft second bed. OWNER RESPONSE Thank you for your kind comments. I have altered the heating, which should now be better - sorry about that. I am rather upset about the bedsheet as I had taken this matter up with the cleaners Orion in August, when they also put an undersized sheet on the main bed. I will most certainly take it up with them again. Victoria Confirmed guest on 28/08/2020 The cottage suited our needs perfectly. The walks are wonderful and varied - perfect for the dog. OWNER RESPONSE I am pleased that you - and most particularly the dog. - enjoyed the cottage. Sally Confirmed guest on 07/08/2020 Lovely, comfortable cottage in great location for sightseeing. OWNER RESPONSE I am so glad you enjoyed Virginia cottage. Hope you will visit again.

5 of of 5

Prices

w/c Fri 7 Nov '20 to Fri 14 Dec '20 315.00
w/c Mon 21 Dec '20. to Mon 28 Dec '20 565.00
w/c Fri 8 Jan '21. to Fri 12 Feb '21 345.00
w/c Fri 12 Feb '21. to Fri 19 Feb '21 440.00
w/c Fri 19 Feb '21 to Fri 19 Mar '21 390.00
w/c Fri 19 Mar '21 . to Fri 26 Mar '21 440.00
w/c Fri 26 Mar. '21 to Fri 16 Apr '21 520.00
w/c Fri 16 Apr.'21 to Fri 28 May '21 440.00
w/c Fri 28 May '21. to Fri 4 June '21 520.00
w/c Fri 4 June '21. to Fri 18 June '21 440.00
w/c Fri 18 June '21. to Fri 9 July '21 520.00
w/c Fri 9 July '21. to Fri 23 July '21 590.00
w/c Fri 23 July '21. to Fri 3 Sept '21 640.00
w/c Fri 3 Sept '21. to Fri 17 Sept '21 520.00
w/c Fri 17 Sept '21. to Fri 1 Oct '21 440.00
w/c Fri 1 Oct '21 to Fri 22 Oct '21 390.00
w/c Fri 22 Oct '21. to Fri 29 Oct '21 520.00
w/c 29 Oct '21. to Fri 5 Nov '21 390.00
w/c Fri 5 Nov '21 to Fri 17 Dec '21 340.00
w/c Mon 20 Dec '21. to Mon 3 Jan '22 590.00
w/c Fri 7 Jan '22 to Fri 11 Feb '22 350.00
w/c Fri 11 Feb '22 to Fri 18 Feb '22 400.00
w/c Fri 18 Feb '22 to Fri 4 Mar '22 350.00
w/c Fri 4 Mar '22 to Fri 25 Mar '22 400.00
w/c Fri 25 Mar '22 to Fri 8 April '22 450.00
w/c Fri 08 April '22 to Fri 15 April '22 530.00
w/c Fri 15 April '22 to Fri 22 April '22 600.00
w/c Fri 22 April '22 to Fri 29 April '22 450.00
w/c Fri 29 April '22 to Fri 6 May '22 530.00
w/c Fri 6 May '22 to Fri 27 May '22 450.00
w/c Fri 27 May '22 to Fri 3 June '22 600.00
w/c fri 3 June '22 to Fri 8 July '22 530.00
w/c Fri 8 July '22 to Fri 29 July '22 600.00
w/c Fri 29 July '22 to Fri 26 Aug '22 640.00
w/c Fri 26 Aug '22 to Fri 2 Sept '22 600.00
w/c Fri 2 Sept '22 to Fri 16 Sept '22 530.00
w/c Fri 16 Sept '22 to Fri 7 Oct '22 450.00
w/c Fri 7 Oct '22 to Fri 21 Oct '22 400.00
w/c Fri 21 Oct '22 to Fri 28 Oct '22 530.00
w/c Fri 28 Oct '22 to Fri 4 Nov '22 400.00
w/c Fri 4 Nov '22 to Fri 16 Dec '22 350.00
w/c Thur 22 Dec '22 to Thur 29 Dec '22 600.00
w/c Thur 29 Dec '22 to Thur 5 Jan '22 600.00

Location

Suitability

Pets Welcome

Facilities

Refrigerator
Hob
Oven
Microwave
Dishwasher
Pantry Items
Coffee Maker
Toaster
Dining Seats
Dining Room
Internet
Fireplace
Heating
Linens Provided
Washing Machine
Tumble Dryer
Parking
Living Room
Hairdryer
Ironing Board
Television
Satellite/Cable
Games
Books
Garden

Theme

Away from it all